autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

Headlight Restoration - I NEED HELP!!

I'm a bit of a newbie to the auto detailing world, but I've been trying to perfect all aspects since I am going to take up a side job of mobile detailing. That being said, my first adventure into the headlight restoration realm has been a discouraging one. After watching a Headlight Restoration video on another car care site I was convinced that the 4 step process: Wetsand w/ 1000 grit and 3000 grit sandpaper, apply cleaner (Meguiars Plastic Cleaner), and finish up with a polish (Meguiars Plastic Polish) would be a success. I even came back with a Meguiars wax I had in the garage since I wanted to try everything before I quite. I only got about half way there (in terms of quality) before I threw in the towel. I've attached the before and after shots of the headlights and am hoping someone can help (they weren't more yellow after, unfortunately I just had to change the light source). As you can see, the tops of each lens turned out pretty good, but there was an extra oxidized/weathered portion near the bottom of the lens that was very stubborn. I can't charge anybody for a job of this low quality, so let the comments/advice fly! Thanks!
    BEFORE>>

AFTER>>

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Headlight Restoration - I NEED HELP!!

I used the Mothers Power Ball with the same products you did and it came out pretty nice. I used an electric drill with the Power Ball. Good Luck

Post Thanks / Like