autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Any downside to polishing the entire car with a light polishing pad, then go more aggressive if needed?

Quote Originally Posted by Bri26 View Post
    I'm just starting out and want to learn good technique, any downside (other than taking more time) to polishing the entire car with a light polishing pad, then go more aggressive if needed? Along those lines, is it okay to spot treat any bad areas or is it always best practice to redo an entire panel?
    No real harm done to paint. Just your time being used.

I do agree with doing your test spot b4 going hog wild. It will help you to build good habbits. One day you will be able to look at the paint and know what combo you need to start with. It just comes with machine time.

Spot treating random deeper scratches and such is a normal method.

If you have not yet done so...i suggest reading and watching the plethora of mike phillips how articles and videos on paint correction and such.

It helped me a lot when i first started. It gave me a base line of proper techiniques(when to prime pad, spreading abrasives out, picking up a bead, arm speed, watching for pad stall if using a free spinning da machine, etc) to start out with and to build/learn off of. Its way better than going in all willy nilly.

I do believe its best to spend the time behind the machine wisely,not only just learning the fundamentals, but also being effective at removing defects to the best of your abilities while learning and building skills nessesary to become better at correcting paint.

Sent from my SM-S901U using Tapatalk

2. Likes Bri26, chilly, PaulMys liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like