autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Any downside to polishing the entire car with a light polishing pad, then go more aggressive if needed?

I'm just starting out and want to learn good technique, any downside (other than taking more time) to polishing the entire car with a light polishing pad, then go more aggressive if needed? Along those lines, is it okay to spot treat any bad areas or is it always best practice to redo an entire panel?

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Any downside to polishing the entire car with a light polishing pad, then go more aggressive if needed?

Quote Originally Posted by Bri26 View Post
    I'm just starting out and want to learn good technique, any downside (other than taking more time) to polishing the entire car with a light polishing pad, then go more aggressive if needed? Along those lines, is it okay to spot treat any bad areas or is it always best practice to redo an entire panel?
    The best advice I can give is that you ALWAYS want to start with the LEAST aggressive method(s) FIRST.

That being said, going around the whole car with a light polish IS NOT a bad idea. Depending on the condition of the car, it may be all you need to do to "fix" whatever issues you are looking to get rid of. If it doesn't fix what you're trying to get rid of, then step it up slightly by turning up the polisher to a slightly higher speed, OR use a more aggressive pad (with the same polish). Starting gentle will minimize risks and will help you get a feel for what you're doing.
    Don M
    2017 Camaro 2LT
    376 RWHP, 6-Speed manual

3. Likes Bri26, PouncingPanzer, Rsurfer, bill walsh liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like