autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Post Thanks / Like

Questions on paint thickness readings

Hello everyone.

First off this is my first time using a paint thickness gauge. I did calibrate it. But wondering if I'm still using it right.

I did test different areas on all 3 cars. But the readings I'm showing you are on from the roof of the cars.

First is a factory paint on a 03 cobra mustang which seems pretty normal.

Second is a 90 mustang that has been repainted at some point and I did a paint correction on it almost two years ago. But it has rarely been driven since. Can this even be right? I tried it several times and got anywhere from 25-32ish.

The 3rd is a 67 fastback mustang that was also repainted at some point. I can't tell if it's a single stage paint.

Any help would be great Questions on paint thickness readings

Sent from my moto g power (2021) using Tapatalk

2. Thanks jeffb thanked for this post
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Questions on paint thickness readings

I’d say the first thing to do is take multiple measurements on the same spot and see what the consistency is between readings. This will give you some confidence of the meter results. Alternatively, using one spot with multiple readings may help you dial in the method to use it to get consistent results. Step 1 with a meter is getting consistent results, then you can start to use the results to make decisions.

As far as the factory paint, that seems reasonable. The 3rd car with a repaint also seems reasonable. The 2nd car with 30+ is way overkill and may have had an inexperienced painter than put the paint/clear coat on way too thick.