autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Paint decon and polish on my 2021 camaro

Hi all,

I made a thread about a week or two ago asking about my first wash. im not a novice at detailing, but i am trying to be extra cautious with this paint since aside from iron and rail dust contamination its in good shape. (no swirls)
    As Mike says an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of correction. I want some sanity checks, especially since ill be using some products i havent tried before. I also have a few questions

First, the products i plan to use:

Griots synthetic clay, lubricated with wolfgangs waterless wash diluted to what the bottle suggests for clay lube
    My hope is that this will remove the iron and rail dust (Id like to avoid using iron x if i can)

Car pro essence polish on a fresh griots black finishing pad (never used essence before but it was highly reccomended on here)

Topped with a wax or coating to be determined

Questions:

1. I have applied griots garage 3 in 1 ceramic spray wax to the car. Will the clay bar remove this? Do i need a strip wash or some other step to get the paint ready for claying?

2. any tips for working with the essence? Ive read it doesnt like being worked to hard or being heated up. I figure half a panel and let it (and myself) cool down

3. I understand that the essence leaves some SIO2 on the paint as a base layer of protection. Can I put a caranuba wax over top of this? I know ive done this in the past with things like Klasse but the SIO2 is a different animal (for that matter can i wax over top of the griots spray wax?)