autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Tesla Model 3 Scratched by Dog

Hi everyone,

I'm new to detailing and would love some help. I've looked all around and it didn't really help me with a solution. So I recently got a Blue Model 3 and my sister's dog decided to use the car as a prop for her paws to help her stand up . It left about 5-15 scratches on it. I asked local shops about their prices and it ranged from $180 to over $500, as some shops claimed it needed to be repainted. I did a bit of research and found out about using a DA Polisher.

My question is based on your opinion, can the scratch be fixed with a buff/polish? I plan on getting the Porter Cable 7424 XP. Would love some advice on pads that would work and also the right products.

Thank you

Attachment 73944

Tesla Model 3 Scratched by Dog-untitled-presentation-1-jpg

Tesla Model 3 Scratched by Dog-untitled-presentation-2-jpg

Tesla Model 3 Scratched by Dog-untitled-presentation-jpg

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Tesla Model 3 Scratched by Dog

Welcome to AGO.

Can you feel the scratches with your fingernail?
    It is no coincidence that man's best friend cannot talk.

Post Thanks / Like

I can't see the scratches in the pics so that's one thing going in your favor. They must not be very deep.

Also, since your looking at isolated scratches, hand compounding/polishing is a reasonable approach to remedy. You don't need to wait on your polisher.

Give Meguiar's Ultimate Compound and Polish a try.

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by PaulMys View Post
    Welcome to AGO.

Can you feel the scratches with your fingernail?