autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Ceramic Second Layer = How much Gain Gloss or Longevity or Mostly Placebo

Know a second layer ensures coverage but how much does a second layer add in additional gloss or durability (avalonking).

I am not a professional, just an enthusiast. Know sealants layer and have done that (duragloss), this is my first foray into ceramic.

Prep work (wash/decon, clay, buff, ipa wipedown) is enough of a chore itself would like to get away with just one complete coat of ceramic (unless significant gains can be made by second coat. Daily driver (challenger).

Regards,

P.S. how does wiping a second coat on a mere 1-2hrs after the first coat of ceramic not mess with/disturb the first coat. Is the first coat so locked in at 1-2 hrs that coat #2 doesn't disrupt/smudge/smear/disturb coat #1 in any bad way/fashion. Thinking 1 coat with close monitoring to make sure nothing missed during application might actually yield best results. Or no problem with 2nd coat and should go for it.

2. Likes jshillin liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Ceramic Second Layer = How much Gain Gloss or Longevity or Mostly Placebo

It adds about 10 to 20%, not double like one would expect. It’s mostly to guarantee you didn’t miss a spot from the 1st coat. It’s easy to miss a spot and chances are on second go you don’t miss the same spot again.
    Bruno Soares

4. Thanks Fallguy007 thanked for this post
    Likes dgage liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like