autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Brand new car: ceramic coating alternative to CQuartz?

So just purchased a brand new car, 2022 Hyundai Tucson.

First brand new car in a while. And definitely first one since I've been a detailing hobbyist.

Car only has 35 miles and gave explicit instructions for detailer to NOT wash or touch exterior.

Car is dirty but definitely looks like exterior is 99% scratch free.

I'll go over with a simple clay, IPA, light polish (is this even necessary?) and then ceramic coat.

I've always used CQuartz UK. Was thinking about trying something else.

What is the HOT ceramic coat out there that is reasonable. Talking $50-70.

Thanks

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Brand new car: ceramic coating alternative to CQuartz?

Go Graphene if you want to try something new.

Post Thanks / Like

Congrats, what color? If it's 99% swirl free and you don't want to polish, don't clay.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by The Guz View Post
    Go Graphene if you want to try something new.
    Any particular brand?

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Rsurfer View Post
    Congrats, what color? If it's 99% swirl free and you don't want to polish, don't clay.
    It is white. Pretty much the only color I will buy short of nardo gray type colors.

I know white won't pop but it also is very good at hiding swirls.

I guess this brings up another question. So if I am confident that car is pretty much scratch free, should I still clay/polish or just go ahead and wash the car and put on ceramic coat?

My thought was always to polish to "smooth" down the paint but on a brand new car maybe not necessary?

Post Thanks / Like