autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 8 12345678 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

First large order, any input?

Hello! I am placing my first actual large detailing order today to go with my newly purchased 2008 Miata MX-5. Just some info on the car, the paint is pretty rough and a few major panels(hood, trunk, front fenders) are new paint and clear coat. I am sure that affects what should be used. Also note, I am getting my first DA ever so I am very new to this and don't want to screw it up. I am happier going over a spot a few times with less aggressive stuff then trying to do it in one swipe and screwing it up.

So, from the following list I am really needing the most info on the pads, compound, and polish. I think for the most part everything else is fine but I am definitely open to suggestions if there are any. Oh and on top of the list, I am getting a Nanoskin fine clay replacement pad and N-914 rinseless/lube.

I am unsure about what polish and pads are best. I heard Menzerna is fantastic but I don't know about their "grit" levels. I was told 400 might be a bit aggressive for a beginner compound and I'd be best in the 1000-1500 area. This looked good but it's OOS, Menzerna Power Gloss, Power Finish & Super Finish Bundle, Menzerna Polishes Combo, Nano Polish, Power Finish Polish, Power Gloss Compound and this I am unsure about because I don't think PO 91E is aggressive enough for pretty rough paint? Menzerna Intro Kit, Menzerna polishes, Menzerna Final Polish, Intensive polish

I am buying a GG G9 also.

Thanks for any help on any part of this, I really appreciate it!

Mike Phillips

Re: First large order, any input?