autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Post Thanks / Like

Paint defect advice......

I’m a newbie in terms of paint correction and most of the things that go with it. I’ve been looking at various YouTube channels for info on techniques, products etc. I’ve just discovered this forum and wish I had done so ages ago!

Anyway, I’m looking for some specific advice- I have a Jaguar XJ that had not really been that well looked after (cosmetically) by the previous owner. I have spent hours and hours in the past couple of weeks correcting the paintwork which needed a lot of scratch removal, it’s now done and I thought it looked great but in the sun it’s a different story.

I thought it would just need a finishing polish and all would be right with the world! There’s marring/micro marring all over the place (I’ll try and add some photos below).

The question I have is- does this need an intermediate polish stage before trying to finish? The compound stage was carried out using a DA polisher with meguiars MF cutting pads and DA MF compound.

I was trying to finish with Rupes yellow polishing pads and Sonax perfect finish. But no matter how many passes there’s hardly any improvement at all.

Should I try a heavier cutting polish with the same pads?

What I have in my stock is-

• Meguiars MF finishing pads,
    • chemical guys hex logic orange (med-heavy) cutting pads,
    • rupes yellow polishing pads, rupes white fine polish pads,
    • meguiars M105,
    • Meguiars Ultimate Compound
    • and Sonax perfect finish.

If I can use thes products to get the desired finish from the next stage then great but if anyone recommends any other products I would happily buy something else.

Thanks in advance,

Paul.