autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Post Thanks / Like

Any benefit for replacing my old PC DA?

I bought a porter cable DA in about 2005-6 - not sure of the model but I think they’ve updated it. I see a lot of new (to me) da’s with longer throw and more power (thinking rupes big foot & the flex models). How much benefit would I see with these over my old PC?

I’m no pro and this is just maintaining our cars at a fairly high level*. We have an ‘08 MINI convertible in Astro Black, a ‘14 Lincoln Navigator in black, and an Aegean blue (iirc) ‘17 Honda Civic. I’m also looking at getting a red Ford Ranger.

* They aren’t kept as pristinely after a heart attack and an IED.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Any benefit for replacing my old PC DA?

I started on a PC as well. I upgraded to a Griots G9 and it was nice. It’s not a tool I’d use for a business, but it’s a nice upgrade from a PC. Great ergonomics and more power.

If you’re willing to spend 400-600 dollars on a tool to keep your own vehicles nice, then of course, a Rupes or Flex will make you very happy. You will need to spend 100-200 in addition on appropriate pads and accessories, though.

I used my LC flat pads from my PC and they worked well with the G9.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

3. Thanks Texchappy thanked for this post
    Likes Texchappy, PaulMys liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like

Only you can determine whether spending the money for a new polisher will be worth it to you. Are you still pretty happy with your PC? I'll share my recent experience.