autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

How to fix previously(poorly) repaired scratches

Had a regular client bring an Estoril Blue BMW m3 sedan by for polishing and to try and improve the appearance of a few big scratches on the driver door.

Somebody used touch up paint previously although the only real sign of this is the smearing running the length of the scratches.

So my question is how do I remove the previously applied touch up and then what's the best method of dealing with the scratches? I have limited touch up paint experience but lots of patience haha

Thanks!

JoshHow to fix previously(poorly) repaired scratches-20210219_231202-jpgHow to fix previously(poorly) repaired scratches-20210219_231221-jpg

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Post Thanks / Like

Re: How to fix previously(poorly) repaired scratches

Those scratches look pretty wide. Or is that just the excess paint smeared around the scratch?

In any case, the paint used for touch-ups is typically lacquer and if that is your case, then lacquer thinner can be used to remove it. Try on a small section near the end of one of the scratches. Saturate a cotton swap with lacquer thinner and see if it will remove the touch-up paint. Depending how long the touch-up has been there this may take some time. The lacquer thinner will not instantly dissolve the paint but it should eventually. If you can see the color on the swab after a little rubbing then you are making progress. The original finish should tolerate the lacquer thinner for a certain period, but do pay close attention and stop if it appears to be softening.