autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Got knocked off the horse

My day job is as a project management consultant. One of the greatest challenges of my job is handling scope creep while ensuring quality and not spending too much time and money. This is known as the triple constraint or iron triangle.

Got knocked off the horse-8ee9be65-8346-4f8e-ab71-fb0344c494b0-jpeg
    Project Management Triangle - Tutorialspoint

Your job is to work with a customer and establish the scope, quality, and cost. Preferably it would be a win-win outcome where the customer is happy with the results and you are happy with the money you make. So then you have to work on your time and as Craig alluded to, your ability to stick to the agreed upon quality level. Perfection is not an option unless you’re working HIGH dollar details. So you will need to work on your offering to get the triangle balanced or even in your favor.

Also realize that as with anything new, you will put more hours into it initially with less return but as you grow your capabilities and business, you should be focused on becoming profitable. And you really need to focus on the business and include all costs including time: cost of products, time spent going to or waiting on clients, electricity, gas, cell phone, water, filters, etc. if you’re not including everything in your rate calculations then you’re not running a business (well).