autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Arrow Lake Country SDO, Scholl Polishes, open vs closed cell

Hi all

I’m relatively new to detailing and have been doing some more reading and research and came across something I was hoping i could get some clarity on.

Firstly, apologies if I’m mentioning brands that aren’t sold here, I am in Aus and a lot of the products available here I cannot get.

I attempted to polish my black Hyundai Nline with a 12mm throw DA with orange LC SDO pads and a few different Scholls polishes. I ended up going with the S30+ as this finished down very well and also did a fair bit of correcting.

I though I’d knock it back a notch for my next time around and ordered some black SDO pads and S40. Now I was reading around a few forums and many say you can’t use open cell pads with S40 as they absorb too much and will clog up the pad. I have been research a bit about open/closed pads with use of DAT polishes like Scholls. Does anyone have any knowledge of these combos? The S30+ seemed to work really well with the orange SDO.

I also came across someone saying S40 is too abrasive for a black SDO pad. This doesn’t make sense to me as S40 is one of the finest polishes around, and the black SDO is a very fine finishing pad?

thanks all!!

Mike Phillips

Re: Lake Country SDO, Scholl Polishes, open vs closed cell

I cover open cell versus closed cell in my how-to book.