autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Coating levelling - possible to remove too much?

I'm new to coatings, and the first one I'm trying is Cquartz Lite. I've noticed that in order to effectively "level" it, leaving no high spots, quite firm buffing is required. Is it possible to over buff, removing too much coating?

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Coating levelling - possible to remove too much?

When I applied the Graphene Ceramic coating to my Ram and found high spots, I applied the liquid to the high spot. I waited the required time and buffed off

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

Post Thanks / Like

Are you talking about during the initial application?

I haven't used CQuartz Lite, but with similar products like Gyeon CanCoat, or really any coating, if it is hard to remove you're waiting too long to buff it out. Try applying it to a smaller area and don't let it sit as long.

The good news is, if you're having a hard time buffing it out, the solids in the coating have most likely started the bonding process and you aren't removing removing anything important. Someone here far more experienced than I am once mentioned the solids really start bonding as soon as the flashing starts and your only buffing off the remnants of the carrier agents and excess solids.
    Drop by to see the latest at The Car Geek Blog

Mike Phillips

How long are you waiting after spreading the coating before wiping the section treated?

How warm is it where you're working and is there much wind?

This is a SUPER easy coating to work with.

Post Thanks / Like

The directions say not to wait, so I'm not waiting. At all.