autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Post Thanks / Like

I think I may have burned through my clearcoat

Please take a look at my picture.

This car is 25 years old. The front end was kinda roughed up; tons of chips, etc.

A few weeks ago I started buffing it with my Porter Cable and some Meguiar's 101. I think I may have rubbed through the clear coat and it turned black.

First off, I'm not a pro detailer and I am really only a weekend warrior (and this is a hobby car for me) so I really don't need a 100% perfect finish. But, I would still like to get the best finish possible on my own if I could and I don't want to spend the $1000 to get the entire front bumper painted.

I started experimenting with Dr. Colorchip for the chips and I'm having great results. So now if I get get these black marks out, or at least somewhat out, I would be thrilled!

So, anyone here have any suggestions on how to fix this up? Even if it is a hack job since it's really a hobby car.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails I think I may have burned through my clearcoat-1994ta-jpg  

Post Thanks / Like

Re: I think I may have burned through my clearcoat

Hummm...

Couple things.

First thing, The car is 25 years old? That brings it around 1995. And from the looks of picture above, paint may be single stage. There's no clear on coat on single stage,

Second thing, looks like deep chips in the paint. Deep enough for metal to rust and or even turn black.

If I'm correct regarding my assessment---Try metal prep or a product that reacts and seals the rust in the chips.

Then fill in chips with Dr Colorchip.

Tom
    Mr Tommy's
    Wash, Buff, Wax

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by TMQ View Post
    Hummm...

Couple things.