autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Post Thanks / Like

CarPro Essence Extreme shelf life accuracy

Question for Essence and coating users. I have a large 1000ml bottle of Essence I’ve been using for 2 years. It’s from July 2018, therefore expiration date of July 2019.

I had heard from CarPro that 2 years isn’t unreasonable for an actual shelf life if kept indoors, tightly sealed, out of sun, etc. which I have.

So now I’m past 2 years, I used it a few weeks ago on the Acura and the consistency seemed fine, it applied normal. Cancoat is on top and seems to be OK except not beading it’s best but that could very well be because if the Cancoat age as well so I’m leaving that as no data learned.

Now I plan to apply CQ UK and have the difficult decision on whether to use Essence underneath and risk the coating life if Essence is somehow “expired”, not living out it’s true bonding and therefore longevity as a base primer. The safe move is to apply UK on bare paint which is what I’m leaning towards but I enjoy Essence for all of its good qualities and it’s expensive so if I knew it will still work as advertised I would certainly prefer it.

This leads to my questions:
    Have any Essence Extreme users ever used it past 2 years from bottle date? If so, any issues with it not lasting like it should after application, such as the LSP dying out sooner?

Has anyone experienced the consistency changing, separating, etc which would make it clear that it is no good anymore?

Obviously with normal polishes if it shakes and mixes and smells fine, it should be fine. Even though Essence is doing all these things like normal, how can I tell if it is no longer beneficial to use?