autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

SELF BANNED
    Post Thanks / Like

Post White Car - Exterior Detail - 2 step

Hi folks, i'm going to detail a white nissan rogue in about 2 weeks. Outside.

My polishes are;

3D One & Gyeon primer

Machines;

Griots G15 & Shinemate mini rotary

My basic plan is to use 3D one using the griots medium orange pad. Followed up by gyeon primer with the black finishing pad.

When using the primer should i increase arm speed and use very light pressure?

Are there any tricks of the trade when working on white cars?

I'm open to any suggestions. Just not the infamous "test spot".

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

FYI i have zero experience with the mini rotary.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: White Car - Exterior Detail - 2 step

Test spot. Test spot. Test spot!

That out of the way, you’ve got a great set up of polishes, pads and tools.

As far as white cars goes, it’s technically “easier” and more forgiving to finish because it’ll hide defects better than black. If it’s a metallic/pearl white you’ll have an even easier time.

That said, I’d take more time on the decon/cleaning stage to be sure the clear coat is a clean and “stain free” as possible. Tar remover, iron decon and thorough claying are a must before any polishing begins.

I’m not super familiar with primer unfortunately, I’ve used it once or twice. I know with Essence(Carpro’s primer equivalent) it was recommended to work it in slowly and only one pass.. might start with Primer that way.

CarPro Essence Definitive Guide Thread

“7 - Is CarPro Essence super easy to use?