autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

New guy trying to decide what to use for winter prep and ongoing maint

Hi,

So I live in Minnesota and am thinking forward to fall and my car prep. I'm a HPDE/shade tree mechanic guy with very limited detailing knowledge... as in I understand and use the two bucket method and recently due to having some time on my hands I've seen a bunch of youtube detailing vids!

Car is a dark blue 2006 Audi A4 wagon that sits outside all the time. Before I bought it a couple of years ago it had lived in CO/CA so it's low rust for MN but had some sun damage to the clearcoat. Hood was resprayed when I bought it due to clear coat failure in a couple of spots, recently started having problems on part of the roof so I just had a detailer use an AIO on the car and had the roof wrapped in gloss black vinyl.

I don't want to get into using a DA polisher (yet), but I am interested in what I can do to help maintain the car between visits to the detailer (let's say annual visits in late spring).

My first thought was to use TWHS AIO in the spring myself (but now I'm leaning towards just letting a pro use an AIO in the spring), and then maintain that by using the TWHS wet wax as a drying aid and applying TWHS ceramic spray as needed.