autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Suggestions of tools polishing Narrow area (pillars, trims, bumpers...)

Hi, this has been annoyed me a little. I am not a professional and I am only doing my own car so I probably wouldn't spend too much for a dedicated RUPES nano ibrid.

I've seen several ways to do it but not sure which one is the most reliable and I would like to avoid risky ones.

1. By hand
    I tried this with MF towel on A pillars. I don't know if I should work longer but this is just way too tiring considering you have to constantly pushing to the edges and avoid moving onto the nearby panels. And the result wasn't too good.
    2.Small pads to a hand held drill.
    I have a lot of drills and adapters. I don't know the exact reasons, but it seems drills should be avoided most of the time since they're not designed for the job. And personally I don't have very good experiences with drills polishing large area flat panel. They just don't seem to work.
    3.large size DA polisher with extension rods
    This seems a good idea but I am not seeing a lot of people doing this. And the extension rods are only sold at very few places. Why is this option so unpopular? Is it because it's unsafe because the rod tends to break away during motions? I have read these rods are very likely to bent on a DA. Just wanna know if they can damage the paint?

So what would you do within a tight budget?

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Suggestions of tools polishing Narrow area (pillars, trims, bumpers...)