autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Bummer dude. Torqx DA.

So i did a 2 step compound and polish on my fiance's 2014 Chrysler 200s (black) today and it didnt go well lol. Im a rookie fyi. I used 3D one with 3D dark purple compound pads(5) and 3D finishing pads (3). Eventually tried using some yellow thin Megs pads after getting frustrsted. I have a Torqx polisher ( posted for sale after this lol). The car was really scratched and swirled b4 i started. Like bad. I found that I was unable to even correct the swirls with the Torqx. Forget about the deeper scratches. I ended up with a shiny black Chrysler filled with the original defects (almost looked worse lol). Anyways...im wondering if the Torqx is REALLY that bad or im really just messing something up (user error).
    Dilemna is that a few weeks ago I did my black F150 with Torx and some Megs D166 and pulled a punch of swirls and webs out the paint successfully ( after screwing it up a few times i might add, my previous posts reflect my rookie status). Wondering what the drastic difference was this time...ill post the steps I took....

1. Wash and dry
    2. 3D BDX iron decon wiped with QD (as shown on 3D video)
    3. Wash and clay
    4. Compound pad and 3D one
    5. Polish with Finishing pad and 3D one
    6. Tried correcting swirls and DA haze with Megs yellow thin and 3D one.

Is the Torqx so bad it cant remove swirls? Did the D166 i used last time just fill in the swirls and not remove ( havent come back. but i have been maintaining weekly with Megs QD and Quick wax.