autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Clear Coat Mishap - Respray or Fixable?

I am an amateur hobbyist detailer. Always enjoyed washing and waxing my vehicles, but recently have gotten more interested in better products and I am just now getting comfortable with my DA.

With that said, I think this is way out of my league, so I wanted to get some opinions on it.

I have a 2017 F150 that I bought used in the end of 2018. I've been wanting to rip off the "FX4" stickers on the bedsides, but hadn't gotten around to it until a few weeks ago. I pulled the passenger side off and it ripped off in a hundred different pieces. It was a pain, but I eventually got it off and removed the adhesive.

When I moved onto the driver's side, I had a hard time catching the edge of the decal. Eventually, I did and it pulled off as one complete piece. This one left a black outline around the whole decal and I thought it could have been build up from all of the sealant and waxes that I've applied, so I started cleaning vigorously.

It was then that I realized this raised edge was actually clear coat.

The previous owner must have had some paint work done, and whoever did it actually applied the clear coat over the decal. Before you judge what I did next, understand I did this in a state of panic, not knowing that I had purchased a truck that had paintwork done to it and being frustrated at the thought of having to have paint work done all because I wanted to remove a decal.