autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Recomendation for shop lighting and buffer trails questions

I'm not a pro, I'm just a guy with a 1988 black corvette who likes to keep it looking nice.

I'm in Canada, so my product selection is more limited than what can be had in the USA. Shipping in liquids or aerosols is a major PITA with customs. I've never had much luck with them in that regard and it usually ends up being "denied" or seized for one BS reason or another.

So I use the Meguire's stuff (ultimate compound, polish and wax) because I can buy it locally at a major dept store. For buffers I use a rotary and a 21mm throw orbital. The rotary is the Dewalt XP and the orbital is an ebay special, the one you see in a couple youtube videos with the digital speed display on the handle. They work fine for my limited use. My pads come from a local jobber who deals in car care/body shop supplies.

I've never had issues with buffer trails before (holograms if you prefer), but this year I'm beset by them.It seems like if I even think about buffing the car, trails start to show up. I haven't changed products or techniques, but they seem to just keep coming back. The car looks fantastic in the garage, but out in the sunlight the trails become stupid evident. Same with scratches. I buff them out and the car looks fantastic. Roll it out in the sun and....BAM! Just like that, the scratches are back.