autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

How would you best protect a new stock vehicle.

How would you best protect a new stock vehicle? I am getting close to pulling the trigger on a new Ford F150 in magma red metalic color. I am wanting to know what the pros here think is the best way I could protect it for durability and ease of care. Would that be a ceramic coating with a hydrophobic topper, a combination of products or something else. Also would you do paint correction first on a new vehicle. Give me your best opinions.

Now for some other info. I am a hobbyist detailer and do my own work, and my vehicles are all daily drivers. I live in Northern AZ and my current F150 in Ruby Red sits outside year round so it does see a lot of sun and other weather. Three weeks ago I stripped it down, hit it with clay bar, gave it a polish, and then put on two coats of Mothers CMX to try out. So far the CMX is still beading good and it makes washing a breeze, but I don't know how it will stand up in the long run.

Some other products that I have tried or use are , Mothers CMX, Collinite #476, Turtle Wax ICE, Chemical Guys Blacklight, and I have Megs HCD ordered to try. I really like the mothers CMX due to its slick finish, hydrophobic properties and it made darkened the finish beautifully. The Collonite did last a looong time and was still beading after a year but was no longer slick and dulled a bit.