autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

***NEED experienced advice - hand polishing??

This forum hooked me in, so I have my first question: I am new to detailing and do not feel comfortable in using equipment to polish. I have just purchased a 2005 nissan and wanted a nice detailing system that is not crazy difficult or very expensive. The paint has a good amount of swirls and seems very "cloudy" to the touch like it needs to be polished.

Originally I was going to wash, clay, use Klasse AIO, then top with either Klasse SG or Wolfgang Deep Gloss. But then I was thinking that some type of polish would be good to get rid of those minor scratches versus just filling them.

I also wanted to use a paint sealant being that I want the most durable and longest lasting protection. I am as concerned as most with the appearance, but I want durability being I drive a ton! I read that many people don't like Klasse SG it is not user-friendly. On the other hand, Wolfgang DG complaints is that is doesn't last very long and not too durable. Another concern was that the Klasse AIO is more of a filler and not a polish.

So here is the question....would you recommend the first system I chosen or would you offer a better suggestion that may include a hand applied polish that is somewhat effective in removing surfaces swirls? Please remember, I only will apply by hand being I don't to risk killing a clear coat with inexperience. Maybe there are some inexpensive alternatives I am not considering (something like a basic cleaner wax, then a fair sealant such as the new mequiars NXT). My main goal to this is durablility/protection.