autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Resurrecting a 1973 Triumph TR-6

Guys,
    I want to preface this thread with a disclaimer. I am a novice when it comes to detailing. I have been a member of this forum for years and have learned a lot just reading threads and seeing some of the amazing transformations that many of you produce. I am an old Triumph fan. I recently acquired a 73 TR-6 from a gentleman that had owned it since 1987. It has been on blocks for over 10 years.

Resurrecting a 1973 Triumph TR-6-20191214_075700-jpgResurrecting a 1973 Triumph TR-6-20191214_075101-jpgResurrecting a 1973 Triumph TR-6-20191214_075431-jpg

My first order of business was to get the car running which I have accomplished taking it on a "maiden" voyage last weekend.

I am now turning my attention to bringing the paint back to life. The car is pretty much all original including the paint. The exterior paint has deep "scratches"....deep enough to catch a fingernail. I started the process by giving the car it's first bath in over 10 years. I then decided to test an area for results. I chose the rear deck because it is a relatively small area, easy to get to, and easier to read with the lighting in my shop. I clay barred the area and then started the correction face using GG 6" with LC orange flat foam pad with Meg 105. I then swapped to a LC white flat foam pad with Meg 205. Here are the results:

Resurrecting a 1973 Triumph TR-6-20191207_144745-jpgResurrecting a 1973 Triumph TR-6-20191214_075348-jpgResurrecting a 1973 Triumph TR-6-20191214_075400-jpg