autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Struggling to bring in business

I’ve been detailing cars for about 12 years, started my business 5 years ago part time working for a few hours after my 7-3 job and on weekends. End of last year I lost my job and figured I would attempt to try and mobile detailing full time out of the back of my Dodge Durango. The winter was slow as expected (Eastern Massachusetts) and then spring started to pick up.

I live on an Island where we have two cities and 40,000 people when you cross the bridge and about 3 other detail shops... I’m the only one who offers mobile. I had a pretty good season this year but it was slower then other summers and I found out there’s a guy in town detailing cars for like $100. He also has a friend who owns a storage company that has a connected garage that he started working out of a few months ago. I’ve had people contact me to come over and give them a quote and then I would see their cars on his Facebook page because clearly my price was more then his. I’m definitely losing a chance of customers just because he has cheaper detail services and because no one here understands the difference between a cheap detail and a more expensive detail.

A full detail for me and my wife takes about 4-5 hours and includes full vac, interior wipe, plastics dressed, floors/seats shampooed and steamed, hand wash, wheels and tires for $160-190 and additional $30 for paint sealant and additional $100 for a clay and polish. I use shine supply, meguiars products and chemical guys soaps.