autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

My white pad turned black!

I am a hobbyist working on my technique and acquiring products. After getting some confidence in polishing when I polished the haze off my headlights - I was quite proud of the results, I decided to try polishing paint. As I am responsible for 3 cars in my garage, 1 of which belongs to my mother in law, I decided hers would be the car I would practice on because she would never notice disappointing results.

Her car is a white 2008 Honda Civic that has been garaged its whole life but cleaning it has mostly been by her (using drive through car washes). After she returned from a road trip a few months ago, I washed her car. I use the 2 bucket method and her paint turned my wash mitt black! It was odd, her paint really didn't look that dirty. It was then that I taped off half the hood of her car, clayed and polished it using a PC DA polisher with a white pad and an orange pad with Meguire's Ultimate Polish that I've had for years.

The result was surprising. The half of the hood I didn't polish looked greyish next to the polished side. I did some research and learned about paint staining. Even though it's not my car, my knowing that I could improve the paint that much made it imperative that I do it. I ordered more pads and a few weeks later I got to it. I clayed the whole car and used the same polish with my new white LC pads and one of my used white pads (hex logic).