autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Elbow Grease Marathon - Lesson Learned

So I'm pretty new to the detailing world. Over the weekend I worked on my Honda Accord to protect it for the upcoming winter that seems to just about be here already in the upper midwest. It hasn't seen a coat of wax in maybe 2 years. I clayed it, applied BF One Step by machine with a polishing pad, buffed it out nice, applied Sonax PNS, buffed it out... turned out GREAT!! Then I had the great idea to apply a coat of Collinite 476 by machine using a wax pad for a second layer of protection since we have 6-7 month winters here. I didn't read the directions first and applied it to the whole car like I did with the BF One Step and it dried. YIKES!!! I don't think I've ever had to use that much elblow grease... it was a ROYAL P.I.T.A$$ to remove with MF towels and took me forever but I eventually got it. The directions clearly state to apply the wax to one panel and then buff it off before it completely dries. NEVER AGAIN!!! I'm still sore. I guess lesson learned. I had to buff so hard at times I must have removed the PNS sealant... or at least put some swirls back in the paint that I just removed. Just wanted to post this so others could learn from my mistake. I did apply some more wax at times by machine over the dried areas that were really stubborn that did help remove some of the dried product and then I immediately buffed the area before the new product dried. Not sure how much harm or working backwards I did to the paint, but like I said, lesson learned. I also don't like the butter can of wax and applying it to a pad with a putty knife nearly as nice as a bottle that can be squeezed. The car looks g