autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Preferred Protection for a Black Car

Hello. Very first post on here. Been reading a lot. I purchased a black car about 3 months ago, a Kia Forte. I'm looking for some suggestions on how to make the car easier to maintain, as I'm just learning how easily the car gets dirty. I haven't put down any type of protection yet. Should I put down some wax? Sealant? Both? Which ones? I understand the process to get to the protection phase, as it takes good prep. I plan to wash the car, and clay bar it before I apply any type of protection. Some type of water beading would be nice. I think I'll stay away from ceramic coatings for now as it seems like they are more suited to advanced detailers. Any and all suggestions appreciated!

Also as an aside, I do have some mico marring on the car. I probably won't get to correcting that for at least for a few months. I may take a detailing class, and then I'll have to purchase a DA Orbital Polisher. I understand that if I put down a long lasting sealant that I won't be able to correct this marring until it wears off, which I'm fine with for now. Gotta take it one step at a time. I'm still fine tuning my wash routine lol.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Preferred Protection for a Black Car

I recommend Collinite 845 for longevity and water beading and gloss

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

3. Likes mckobe liked this post
    Mike Phillips

Quote Originally Posted by omnipotent View Post