autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

How Often Should A DA Polisher Be Used?

Hello everyone. I have little experience with a DA polisher. I have used mine twice at this point on two different vehicles that were not mine. My wife and I have a 2011 Ford Ranger daily driver and farm use truck. My goal is protection over a show quality finish. Sure looking nice is fine but I am more interested in protection from rain, mud, etc to help the truck last. Thanks to the wonderful folks from this forum I have what I need to wash, clay, and polish the truck. What I want to know is from a maintainence point of view, how often or safe is it to use the polishing machine on the paint with say an all in one product? Should I clean it well once by machine and then maintain by hand unless scratch or swirl repair is needed? Thank you all very much.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: How Often Should A DA Polisher Be Used?

AIO's are really mild, so there should be minimal wear on your clear coat each time you apply it if you use it with a moderate polishing pad. How many times a year are you talking about using an AIO? For me, I've never had one hold up more than 6~8 weeks. This could lead to quite a bit of polishing over a long period of ownership of the truck.