autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Do you Clay Daily Drivers...?

I'm somewhat new to the detailing world. I don't have show cars or anything fancy, just daily drivers that get parked outside as often as they do in the garage. I live in the upper midwest where we can get 9 months of winter. I usually just machine polish with a one step product on a vehicle once or twice a year spring/fall. I've never clayed a vehicle before. For you guys that just maintain daily drivers to look nice, do you consider claying necessary?

Thanks.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Do you Clay Daily Drivers...?

I will say my preference is i clay mine once a year. Mine sit outside 24/7 and drive everyday. So probably should decontaminate every time you polish and wax your car but i don’t i only clay once a year. But they make clay mitts so u can basically knock it out while u wash your car. Makes it much faster and i am thinking of doing this now every time i detail my cars when i planning on waxing.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Post Thanks / Like

I'd expect that if you took a poll here with your question the results would probably be in the 75-80% range (maybe even higher) recommending that "yes, claying is necessary". Me personally, I'd probably fall into 20-25% percent that say otherwise (maybe; or no).

What I would do if I were in your shoes is this...

Do a baggie test. I can almost guarantee that you'll feel roughness. To most, that roughness will indicate that claying is necessary, but I don't necessarily agree with that 100%. The reason - doing a machine polish using an AIO product will remove many of the bonded contaminants, therefore the clay step may not be necessary.