autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Polish & Claybar Budget Friendly Suggestions Please

I'm completely new to polishing and detailing. I just ordered a Griot's DA 6" polisher with a 5" conversion kit and now I'm looking at purchasing some polish and a claybar. Prices for these things are all over the place. I am not a professional detailer and don't plan to be, I just need this for my own personal cars. I want something good but not too expensive.

I was recommended Blackfire polish in another thread and Menzerna by someone else but they seem so expensive compared to Meguiar's. Is there really that big of a difference which makes it worth it? Or is it like most things where if you want the best, you pay twice the price of something good to get a 10% increase in performance?

The cars I'm working with is a 10 year old car that pretty much has had nothing done to it for it's entire life except for car washes with wax in it and a brand new black car that I need to get some water spots off of.

Can you please recommend some polish and a clay bar with lubricant for someone that wants something good but doesn't want to break the bank unless absolutely needed?

Thanks!

2. Likes PaulMys liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Polish & Claybar Budget Friendly Suggestions Please

The Meguiars M205, Ultimate Polish and M210 are very good polishes. As far as clay I use the Megs medium or fine clay with ONR as a lube. There are a ton of good polishing options that are easy to work with and I'm sure more will chime in but just because it cost more doesn't mean it's better especially for a first timer.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by GlockFu View Post