autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Customer’s Truck Arrives Muddy

Hey there guys,

I am relatively new to detailing, I do it one Saturday a month by word of mouth.

I agreed to do an electrician’s company truck in exchange for $250 worth of electrical work on my house, plus he kicks in $150 cash.

We agreed to a wash, AIO, wax, and dressings. During the wash, I discovered the undercarriage was caked with mud. I pulled out wheat stalks, mud clumps, etc. I wasn’t upset, it’s a work truck, but admittedly I didn’t budget this into my estimate. It took three hours to complete the wash.

Can you guys help with a few simple questions that crossed my mind... Am I crazy for cleaning this truck this thoroughly for an AIO job? There was no way I was going to leave it there once I discovered it, but I simply wasn’t expecting this big of a job.

Should I chalk this up as a lesson learned and do a better job estimating and budgeting my work?

Have you ever estimated a job, received the vehicle, and then you billed them a little more for the unexpected condition it was in, and the extra labor needed?

The customer will be over the moon when he sees this thing, it turned out very nice, but I’m left wondering where the line is for doing TOO much on a job that was requested I do a ‘quick buff on her’.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Customer’s Truck Arrives Muddy

You chalk it up to a lesson learned and I guarantee you it won't happen again. Every person that has started this business from scratch has been beaten by a job or ten. It's part of any business really.