autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Post Thanks / Like

Do I need a special polish before applying a ceramic coating?

I'm new to ceramic coatings but not to polishing. I usually use Meguiars polishes with a Griots orbital. I plan on applying a ceramic coating soon. Most of the info on ceramic coatings call to use that brand's polish before the ceramic coating. I understand the paint must be free of any oil/wax/etc before the ceramic is applied.

Could I use a Meguiars polish (M205), then use something like the CarPro Eraser to clean surface, before applying ceramic? Or do I need a non-abrasive polish, from the brand of ceramic I am using for the best finish?

Thanks again.

Post Thanks / Like

Do I need a special polish before applying ceramic coating?

I'm new to ceramic coatings but not to polishing. I usually use Meguiars polishes with a Griots orbital. I plan on applying a ceramic coating soon. Most of the info on ceramic coatings call to use that brand's polish before the ceramic coating. I understand the paint must be free of any oil/wax/etc before the ceramic is applied.

Could I use a Meguiars polish (M205), then use something like the CarPro Eraser to clean surface, before applying ceramic? Or do I need a non-abrasive polish, from the brand of ceramic I am using for the best finish?

Thanks.

Mike Phillips

Re: Do I need a special polish before applying a ceramic coating?

Any quality polish will work.

AFTER polishing though you must chemically strip the paint to remove polishing oils so the coating can make a proper bond.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Do I need a special polish before applying ceramic coating?

Absolutely. The key is to clean the paint well before coating and you mentioned that.