autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Ceramic Coating water spots

Hey all, bit of a detailing newbie here. I was about ready to begin polishing/prepping my month old Tesla Model 3 and DIY ceramic coating before I read that water spotting on ceramic coating being an issue and the only way to remove it being polishing again. Is this truly an issue? I live in a townhouse where the sprinklers sometimes hit my car in the middle of the night and I am afraid of water spotting.

im thinking I may just try a sealant instead of something that isn’t so permanent. Thoughts?

Mike Phillips

Re: Ceramic Coating water spots

Quote Originally Posted by brunoranger View Post

Hey all, bit of a detailing newbie here. I was about ready to begin polishing/prepping my month old Tesla Model 3 and DIY ceramic coating before I read that water spotting on ceramic coating being an issue and the only way to remove it being polishing again. Is this truly an issue?

I live in a townhouse where the sprinklers sometimes hit my car in the middle of the night and I am afraid of water spotting.

im thinking I may just try a sealant instead of something that isn’t so permanent.

Thoughts?

Water spots can be an issue with any product, wax, sealant or coating.

When water spots do cause a problem, like a Type II Water Spot, (that's an etching crater in the paint), or even just imprint rings in the coating and the paint, then I always have to stop and think... and then ask myself...

What the heck is in the water that is so corrosive?