autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Newbie Question

Post Thanks / Like

Newbie Question

Hello there. New to the forum and new to car detailing. The only experience I have in detailing a car is washing it and doing the old school method of using a compound and then waxing everything afterwards by hand which was taught to me by my dad many moons ago. Sad to say it’s been years since I’ve actually polished and waxed a vehicle. I usually just take it to a car wash place every once in a blue moon to get it clay barred and waxed. I have no experience with either a rotary or DA machine.

So now that my brief history with car detailing has been explained my question is this, my 4Runner’s clear coat is cracking in certain places on the roof and a small section of the roof’s clear coat has started peeling. See pictures

My question is, how would I go about fixing the clear coat? My worry is that if I use a DA polisher on the peeling clear coat, it might make it worse by making the clear coat peel even more. Or am I just worrying too much? As far as getting the vehicle repainted, that’s out of the question as this my daily driver and I can’t afford to not have a vehicle.

Also can you suggest of a good brand of polish and wax that won’t break my bank? And also what do you folks think of the GoPlus Hyet DA polisher sold on Amazon? I’m not trying to break my bank as this is more geared towards a necessity and not as a business venture.

Thanks for all your help.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Newbie Question