autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Better to detail before snow or after snow ?

So I'm an amateur detailing enthusiast. Couple weeks ago, I told wife's friend I would detail her car for her. We had agreed for her to drop car off this evening (Friday) and she can pickup Saturday evening.

Well weather man said snow this weekend, starting Saturday evening and on to Sunday.

Wife's friend said may be we shouldn't do it this weekend because of snow. She doesn't want my work to go to waste.

I told her it was up to her but IMO its better to do it before than after because her paint will then be protected against snow and salt, etc. And after snow she can perhaps take it to brushless car wash to get the shine back, it won't be wasted.

Was that good advice ? or is her concern valid ? and that detailing after snow was better.

Pls advise.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Better to detail before snow or after snow ?

It really matters not.. One snow storm with road treatment isn't going to make or break it regardless if the paint is protected or not. IMO, a full detail should probably wait until sprig, then just do maintenance in the winter months. Your friend is right, having you spend all that time to decontaminate, correct and protect in front of a pending storm is fruitless.

I moved to AZ from NH, and I can state that full details happened between mid-April through end of September, early October. After that business trailed off for full correction/coatings etc... Everyone in NH knows what's in store between November through March...

3. Thanks Oz_TCH thanked for this post
    Likes Jon TDS liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like