autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Local detail shop's prices and an overall rant/future outlook

Quick note on my background first:

I've been a detailing enthusiast since I bought my first car, 15 years later and I'm just beginning to detail for-profit. I'm not advertising, just getting business by word of mouth, which is all I can handle currently, as work 50-55 hrs/wk at my day job. All of my business has been co-workers/friends. Because I'm new to the detailing-for-profit world, and all of my customers have been friends/co-workers (so far), my pricing has been very low—in my opinion, and I base that off what I’ve read throughout these forums, and the cost of my time.

I'll admit that I'm pretty damn slow, mostly due to my OCD/perfectionist mentality, and partly due to not having a fluid "system" down. For example, my last detail, a lifted F150 crew cab w/ King Ranch soft leather seats, took me roughly 18 hours (labor hours, ignoring any setup/breaks). I fully detailed the interior including spot removal on headliner, applied conditioner to the seats, shampoo'd/extracted carpets etc., and the exterior: full detail/dressed + decon + 1 step (AIO). While I only removed roughly 80% of the scratches/swirls, the finished product looked great, and the customer was extremely happy. Because he was my friend/co-worker, I charged him $300—he has a 2nd vehicle which he also plans to bring to me in the near future. If this job was just a random person/customer, I’d likely have charged closer to $500, and after a few years of experience in the business I’d likely price a little higher than that.