autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Newbie Questions About DA Polishers & Abraisiveness

Hello everyone. I am in learning mode. As most of you know, I am not a professional at all and I simply want to take care of our family hatchback and my parents 2008 Dodge 4x4 pickup. I know that a lot of newbies are concerned about a DA polisher say a Porter Cable 7424XP burning through or damaging a clear coat finish. I have learned from reading on this site and from watching videos that you would have to be very abusive for that to happen with a polisher like that. Here are my questions and I realize that they are also a "well it depends" kind of question.

How aggressive in grit would an aggressive cutting pad and say a Meguirars 205 compound be compared to sandpaper? I ask this because I understand that wet sanding a scratch with say 3000 grit sand paper will remove clear coat and causes the sanded area to get dull. A combination of a buffing pad and a compound will remove those 3000 grit sanding marks. That tells me that the pad and compound combo must be of finer grit.

If you move on it a polishing pad with a polish, roughly where in the grit scale compared to sand paper are we now?