autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Best synthetic clay option?

I would like some opinions on the different options out there.

I am leaning towards the CarPro Poly Shave Decon Towel or the Griots Surface Prep Pad.
    I will be working on a 2007 satin white pearl Subaru Wrx Sti. The car is heavily contaminated even after Iron X treatment. Traditional Clay is taking too long per panel.
    My question is how aggressive is the CarPro Poly Shave? I am worried it will not be aggressive enough to get the contaminants out of the paint.

All opinions welcomed.

Thanks!

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Best synthetic clay option?

I can't comment on the heavily contaminated paint, as I'm just a hobbyist.

But I have the nanoskin sponges which work great, the clay mitt for larger areas, also works great. Just ordered the Griot's Brilliant Finish synthetic clay sponge as well, which I have yet to try.
    It is no coincidence that man's best friend cannot talk.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by PaulMys View Post
    I can't comment on the heavily contaminated paint, as I'm just a hobbyist.

But I have the nanoskin sponges which work great, the clay mitt for larger areas, also works great. Just ordered the Griot's Brilliant Finish synthetic clay sponge as well, which I have yet to try.
    Thanks for the response. The paint isn't too heavily contaminated, but it is definitely too contaminated for a fine clay if that makes sense. I think a medium clay would tackle all of the contaminants.

Post Thanks / Like

Griot?s Garage Fast Surface Prep Mitt

I've been using one (the same one!) for the last year. Works great!

Mike

5. Likes PaulMys liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like