autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Advice for 92' Mercedes 190

Hi,

I want to get into taking care of my first car (have a look at my introduction thread if interested) which is a daily driver, standing outside 24/7.
    It's not in bad condition for it's age but the paint does not look well, it needs some body work as well to remove some rust spots - check out the album.

Now of course I have read all sorts of articles, but the longer I read the less I know what would be a good approach for this car and for me as a total beginner.

I am pretty sure the paint is single stage, since even wiping with a damp towel and APC is attracting paint - for example on the oxidized hood.
    What I want to achieve is to minimize the oxidation, fill/mask the imperfections and protect the current state of the paint with as few products as possible to get the job done.
    And here it comes... all of this must happen by hand - I just have no possibility to use a machine, therefore getting one in my situation does not make sense.

I am living in an apartment and have yet to find a place where I could perform just a hand wash using buckets.
    So maintenance washes are done using a coin operated pressure washer so far, but I would like to add rinseless washing to my routine after the first "detail".
    In a few weeks I will be visiting relatives for a few days where I could work on the car, therefore I hope you guys can help me out until then.

I have to add that I am trying to stay on a low budget and already got some products from a guy who was getting rid of some of his detailing supplies.