autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Collonite 845 - 5 minute wipe off ?

I washed my car, used Klasse AIO to clean the paint, then I applied Collonite 845 with a foam applicator. After 5 minutes doing the hood, I did a swipe test, and it seemed to pass the swipe test, so I buffed off with microfiber towel. The temperature was about 68 degrees Fahrenheit.

I read some guys say leave it on for 45 minutes before buffing off, so question is, have I buffed it off too early or should I wait 45 minutes ?

Note, my only experience with wax is OCW (spray wax) and Detailer’s Pro Max Wax which was a super easy apply and near instant buff/wipe off wax but didn’t have longevity, so I’m a noob on traditional waxes.

Post Thanks / Like

Collonite 845 - 5 minute wipe off ?

Quote Originally Posted by newbie12345 View Post
    After 5 minutes doing the hood, I did a swipe test, and it seemed to pass the swipe test, so I buffed off with microfiber towel. The temperature was about 68 degrees Fahrenheit.
    This is the way man...relax and enjoy your hard work!

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Collonite 845 - 5 minute wipe off ?

Once it dries you can remove it but when I used to use it I would apply to the entire car and THEN remove. I never had an issue doing it this way...ever!

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
    2022 Elantra N Cyber Gray
    Some say..."He likes Swedish fish because they're made with caranuba wax"

4. Likes PaulMys, Sicoupe liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like

You'll probably get pro and con on this question of yours.

I know Collinite can have variability of ease of removal times due to temps and relative humidity.