autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Need help deciding on a new entry level coating - McKee's 37 or Duragloss

Hey Everyone,

So my girlfriend is getting a new Honda CR-V in metallic gray (daily driver) and I was thinking about putting a coating on it. I have never used a coating before, hence the "entry-level" part of the title so it needs to be user-friendly for a noob. It also needs to be reasonably priced and durable. I have been looking at McKee's 37 paint coating and Duragloss' Enviroshield Ceramic Coating to start with. What are your thought's on these if you have used them or do you recommend another coating?

I was also going to use a "booster" every so often to help the coating using "in the family" products such as Hydro Blue SiO2 spray or Aquawax (I love this stuff). I like the idea of using the Hydro Blue (spray and rinse) for the wheels and glass as well.

From what I've read, you don't want to use a soap that contains wax, glossifers, etc., that will alter the original performance of the coating. Is this correct? For rinseless, I have D114, so I should be good there, but for a traditional soap I have DG901/DG902, which I believe has something in it. I am almost done with my gallon of DG so I will be getting a replacement. Would DG901/902 still work or would you recommend something different? This soap would be used for other non-coated cars as well.

I am also think about putting some PPF on the front of the CR-V. Would the coating affect the adherence of the PPF to the paint? If I did get the PPF, I would also put the coating on top of the PPF.

Thanks for any input and help!

Geoguy

Post Thanks / Like