autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Wax gone after a week

So I'm very new to this. Last weekend I compounded a little bit, then cleaned up with Maguairs ultimate polish, and then put on a coat of Maguiars ultimate liquid wax. I'm not even close to done and I'm gonna take another shot at this but the paint feels like the wax is totally gone after one week. Do need to do something after polishing to prep the surface so the wax sticks?

Thanks in advance.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Wax gone after a week

Follow on question... will the ultimate polish on a green pad actually remove any swirls? I wanted to avoid the third step on the areas I already worked on.

Post Thanks / Like

Yes ultimate polish on a polishing pad will remove light to moderate swirls depending on the hardness of the paint.

You will lose some of the slickness after the first wash. The important thing is that it is still protecting the paint. You have the option to use a spray wax such as ultimate quik wax or D156 to maintain ULW. This will add some slickness back onto the surface.

No need to use anything to prep the surface prior to applying ULW since you stuck with the same product family.

Post Thanks / Like

Welcome to the forum.

What are you basing your guess on the wax being gone?

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by jdgamble View Post
    Last weekend
    I compounded a little bit,

then cleaned up with Maguairs
    ultimate polish, and then

put on a coat of Maguiars ultimate
    liquid wax.

I'm not even close to done
    You're not? What other detailing
    steps are you planning on doing?

Bob