autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

First EVER Brand new car, Looking for opinions/advice on keeping it MINT

Hey all,

I just purchased my first ever brand new vehicle, a 2016 Ford Focus ST in Tangerine Scream. It is a tri-Coat paint that is very stunning in person. I have had some experience with detailing, working at various detail shops and doing my own vehicles (with MUCH help from this forum). I did a pretty extensive paint "rehab" on a 1999 Mustang GT I owned about 6 years ago:

Pretty bad swirling and general neglect

I actually got pretty decent results using Meguiars Ultimate Compound and a PC7424XP:

That car was pretty much THE car I took OCD care of. I've owned many vehicles since then and generally treated them to 2-bucket wash methods and claying/waxing but since I have a brand new car now, the level of neglect is completely up to me to determine. I live in southern Alberta, so it gets quite cold here in the winter and in the past with other vehicles, I have resorted to using do-it-yourself carwashes and their terrible soap brushes. I did not have any casualties as I was very careful with the brush, but I do want to try to do waterless/rinseless washes when possible in the winter.

This car had 50kms on it when I purchased it, and I haven't so much as washed it once since I got it as I am waiting on some detailing products to arrive so I can give it the attention it deserves.