autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Amatuer using the Wolfgang/Porter Cable Swirl Free Kit. Nervous!

I just purchased the Wolfgang/Porter Cable Swirl Free Kit 3.0 that I'm planning to use on a 2012 black Roush Mustang. After two winters, 2 years of daily use, and 2 years worth of car washes, the paint is swirled, and scratched pretty decently.

This is my first time detailing at this caliber, i.e using a machine polish, swirl remover, etc. and after watching all the videos, and reading all the threads, I have a few questions before I actually start to work on my vehicle. By the way, I'm very very nervous on working on it since I don't want to do more damage than good.

1) Should I be concerned about burning/eating through my clearcoat/paint while using the Porter Cable? I've seen some threads where the owner claims that they've burned through the clearcoat.

2) For the swirl remover step, I was planning on using the orange pad that comes with the kit. Will that pad be to abrasive on the paint?

3) When doing my test spot, after I apply the swirl remover via porter cable and complete the 6 section passes, if the paint still has swirls/scratches, how should I proceed after that. Should I continue with more section passes, change pads, use more product?

Thanks for all the help guys!

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Amatuer using the Wolfgang/Porter Cable Swirl Free Kit. Nervous!