autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

New to Me Car - Considering a DIY Ceramic Coating

Folks,

I just purchased a new to me, 2019 Audi A7 with 22K miles on it. The color is Firmament Blue. I got a few estimates for ceramic coatings but kinda would like to do the work myself. My concern is that I have zero experience working with coatings or doing any sort of paint correction. I've never worked with a machine buffer, either. While the car is in excellent condition, there are swirls, paint chips, etc, as to be expected on a 4-year-old car. My worry is ruining the appearance and paint of my car due to lack of experience, but the DIYer in me wants to tackle this project.

I've narrowed down the coatings to a possible 2- Adam's or Gyeon, but certainly open to others if they are easier to work with.

Can a novice with zero paint correction and ceramic experience pull this off? Do I need heaters and a zero-dust environment to make this work? Can it be done in the typical home garage without any issues?

I appreciate any advice!

2. Likes Coatingsarecrack liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: New to Me Car - Considering a DIY Ceramic Coating

You don’t need to do pain correction to apply a coating. You do need to thoroughly clean the surface. You will need to use a clay bar to rid the surface of bonded contaminants. If the surface has a rough or gritty feel, you need to use clay bar. If you are happy with the condition of the paint, just clean and apply coating. I have used both Gyeon Mohs and Gyeon Pure. Both are very easy to apply and remove.