autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Newbie here, do I need iron remover before clay?

Just got a new, used truck. I plan to clay, then apply wolfgang uder sio2 silica spray.
    Been reading quite a bit and wonder if I need the iron x before clay?

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Newbie here, do I need iron remover before clay?

Quote Originally Posted by MatloccAllison1 View Post
    Just got a new, used truck. I plan to clay, then apply wolfgang uder sio2 silica spray.
    Been reading quite a bit and wonder if I need the iron x before clay?
    Let me state im no expert, but imo/some experiecnce using it also from what ive gathered from reading/being on here for 2 years now....it is NOT a nessesity. Epecially if one were going to do any paint correction.

But it can be beneficial in not all but certain senarios. Most notable during a decon regimen for ceramic coated vehicles. Also i will use it on customer vehicles as most are neglected when they come to me.

Do you own/plan on doing any type of paint correction to this truck? What is the state of the paint...meaning is it swirled out or pretty perfect paint? You are aware that you will most likey get some sort of micro marring from claying?

Also kind of matters too on how you plan on caring for said vehicle...wash methods, products used and such.

If you are just looking to smooth out the surface a bit and apply some protection and go no further with it, then i say No to iron remover.

Sent from my SM-S901U using Tapatalk

3. Likes SNP209 liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like

My opinion... No!