autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Question Please help me save my car

Hello, newbie here and hope to help me...

I am having an issue with my car's paint and i would like some advice on how to solve this problem. Two years ago i put a viny decal on the hood of the car... Two months ago i removed it because it somehow 'cracked' due to the high temperatures of my country and all is left now is a some kind of shadow of the decal and many little bubbles where the decal was. I am not sure if it is the decal's adhesive though. I searched the net and found many solutions: acetone (?), meths, goo gone, elbow grease (WD40) even peanut butter (???), but i am afraid to use some of them because they might burn the paint. Can you please tell me what could i do? Will any of these work without destroying the paint? Is there any solution despite painting the hood again? Below the are pictures that might help :

Thank you for walking up with me until here. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Please help me save my car

First, welcome to AGO!

Ouch. Looks bad. Where are you from?

The bubbles look like a paint defect. It doesn't seem at all topical. Did you put the decal on there when it was freshly painted?

I'm pretty sure you can remove the dark area unless you answered yes to my question above. Because if it was fresh paint and you slapped a vinyl decal on it, the thinner evaporating will try to seep out, which will most likely cause the bubbles and at the same time may have absorbed the color of the decal that was on it.